Middle schoolers either hate or love gym, or view it as a social hour.
Those who hate gym are the ones either bad at sports or the ones with no competitive side. As an acquaintance of mine put it "Chase the ball here, kick the ball there, throw the ball here. Why bother?" Those kids who just sit on the sidelines until the gym teacher/coach has to yell at them to "Hustle!" feel similar. they just want to be left alone to talk or catch up on other things. why is playing a sport so important?
However, others love gym. Some want to show off their muscles and fitness, and you can expect some of these kids to become Teenage Body Builders. As one eighth grader put it "Soccer lets me use my legs. I don't really like soccer, but if it gets my legs to look better I'm all for it."
Then there are the goof-offs who sit on the sides, who cheerfully talk, then cheerfully get up to pretend to participate in whatever is going on when the gym teacher yells at them. Gym just doesn't faze them. It's their social hour.
Friday, July 25, 2008
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)